It all started with… “I LOVE YOU !”

( ……WINTERS OF DECEMBER, NEW YEAR NIGHT ON MY OWN ROOFTOP!! SOUND OF CLOCK HITTING 12 0’CLOCK…)

SHE : I think……I LOVE YOU!

ME : (turning around shockingly!) No You Can’t!

SHE : It’s been three years we have been friends, and you were always there for me, I really love you! Don’t  you find me good enough for you?

ME : No it’s not like that , any guy would be lucky to have you and we have always been best friends , but I don’t have any feelings for you ANVI, I am sorry!

ANVI : (in heavy tone!….) What’s the problem? Why can’t you?

ME : (..taking deep breath..) Because I don’t feel that way about you.

ANVI : Is there any other girl? (..putting glass of scotch on roof ledge..) U can tell me?

ME : It’s getting really late and the party is cold too, let me drive you home!

ANVI : (..in anger..) No need!! I can walk.

ME : Anvi, its NewYear! Do you really wish to start your year like this?

ANVI : Ya please give me a ride , I can barely stand. Scotch started to kick in I think.(..drunk voice..)

ME : (..smiling..)Come on lets go.

ME : Hey wake up! (..patting on her cheek..)wake up sleeping beauty!! Here’s your apartment. You sure you will be fine from here?

ANVI : (.. in drunk tone..) ”YEAH” I am fine.

(.. car door closes… and engine starts)

ME : Hey Anvi !

ANVI : what?(.. turning around..)

ME : “ HAPPY NEW YEAR!!”(..smiling..)

ANVI : (..a curve on her lips..) To you too AMAN!

(………….A WEEK LATER, SATURDAY, ALL FRIENDS TOGETHER AT MY APARTMENT……………)

ANVI : It was not the scotch on that new years eve, I really like you!

ME : We have already talked about that Anvi.(..sighs..)

ANVI : Ya and as far as I remember, when I put a question about any other girl ,you changed the topic, (..in a suspense tone..)Do you have a girlfriend , you never told me about her?

ME : No I don’t!

ANVI : Is it about her!! (surprisingly steps backwards)

(..silence strucks the conversation… standing up and walks down to the kitchen…)

(.. sound of Anvi’s footsteps..)

ANVI : (..shocked..!!) You still love NEHA? She left you a year ago, and you still haven’t moved on .Why are you so stupid? Listen to me !(.. puts her hand on my shoulder..)

ME (..looking in Anvi’s eyes..) Ya I still love her!

(… loud voices and cheering sound coming from the living room..!!!)

ME :  Lets go, other guys are waiting for these drinks, and I am pretty sure, they’ll destroy the whole place if they didn’t get it before another six of Sachin!!.(..laughing..!)

ANVI : (..laughs and sighs) Ya lets go!

(..DAYS PASSED BY, ANVI EVENTUALLY GOT THE HOLD ON HER FEELINGS AFTER HER BREAKUP WITH A GUY!..)

(AFTER 2 YEARS……….)

(…NEW YEARS EVE,  MY APARTMENT….LOUD MUSIC AND PEOPLE CHATTERING AND DANCING)

ANVI : (to SAM) Have you seen AMAN?

SAM : No, the idiot might be in some other room trying to escape the party asusual.

ANVI : Ok thanks!

(..ON THE ROOFTOP..)

ANVI : (taking deep breathes….!!) You have any idea how hard it is for a girl to climb stairs in high heels! You should try to find a better place to sit alone.

ME : (..laughing..) Come here!

ANVI : I knew I will find you here!

ANVI : Can I know why would someone escape his own party?

ME : Needed some fresh air!

ANVI : An urban excuse for every guy rite?(.. both laughs..)

ME : It was on this rooftop on a similar New year eve when I first saw Neha! And with the very first sight I fell in love with her.

ANVI : (..smiling..).

ME : We met that day on this rooftop, and it was that New year eve 4 years ago  we first kissed when the clock struck 12(..smile getting off the face.. ).

ANVI : She was damn lucky to have you that night and days since then.

ANVI : That’s the tragedy with this world, nice people are never appreciated and often dumped , and I haven’t even found the one, I sure tried some years back! But see again a bad hit!

ME : (..chuckles..)  Its because you haven’t met the right guy yet, the one for whom you can be complete idiot, but still special . I am sure he’s right out there somewhere like Neha. (..smiling..)

ANVI : How do you do it Aman?

ME : Do what?

ANVI : To sit all alone on a cold night, waiting for someone who doesn’t even know where you are! From where do yet get all this strength.

ME :  (smiling!!) I know the odds are that the love of my life is not going to magically appear from that door looking for me around 11:55 on New years eve.

But it’s just a nice place as any to just sit and wait for her.

ANVI : I wish I ever end up with a guy like you!(smiles!)

ME : Maybe you just walk down to the room, and he’s standing right there waiting for you.(Wnks! ;))

ANVI : (smiling…. Taking her steps towards the roof door..) “Are you coming”?

ME : (looks toward her and smiles…)

ANVI : Here take this shawl at least!(smiles) HAPPY NEW YEAR AMAN! (..softly kisses the cheek..)

(…footsteps walking down the stairs….)

( CLOCK SOUNDS TURNING 12, LOUD SOUND ECHOING THROUGH THE WHOLE CITY, AND FIREWORKS LIGHTENING UP THE SKY…)

(SOUND OF FOOTSTEPS COMING UP FROM THE STAIRS………………………..)

3 thoughts on “It all started with… “I LOVE YOU !”

Leave a Reply

